Facts About Ferrets

sable ferret in hammock

The Latin name for the domestic ferret is Mustela putorius furo, which translates to "stinky mouse killer thief".

In zoological classification, ferrets belong to the family Mustelidae, which also includes wolverines, otters, and weasels.

It is thought that ferrets were domesticated approximately 2,500 years ago.

Ferrets are obligate carnivores -- they eat only meat.

A male ferret is a hob and a female ferret is a jill.

A castrated male is called a gib and a spayed female is called a sprite. 

Ferrets are pregnant for between 35 to 45 days.

A baby ferret is called a kit and they are about the size of a human pinky finger when born.

A pet ferret's lifespan is between 5 and 10 years.

A group of ferrets is a business (or busyness).

Ferrets come in a myriad of colors from pure white to sandy, cinnamon, chocolate, and sable (the most common).

A white ferret is either an albino (with red eyes) or a dark-eyed white, often called a D.E.W.

Ferrets can have several types of markings including a mask, a blaze, a bib, and mitts.

ferret markings mask bib mitts

Ferrets are near-sighted -- things appear blurry to them only a few feet away.

Ferrets are mostly colorblind and can only see the color red.

Ferrets have 34 permanent teeth including large pointy canines to puncture their prey.

Did we miss any fun ferret facts? Comment below!

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment